Mission Control Identity Server

            The Identity Server answers user and client authentication requests. It also offers full user administration and debugging features. Designated administrators can edit the user credentials, define group permissions and set usernames and passwords in the Mission Control Portal. In addition, the Identity Server integrates into the Active Directory environment by keeping users in sync. Whenever a user changes their password, the Mission Control Portal enforces a strong password policy.

            For existing Active Directory environments, user fields such as name, phone number, email address, alias, client VPN group membership, authentication group memberships, job title, and cost center are synchronized to the Identity Server database. A user's password is not exported from Active Directory and is, therefore, validated in real time against the directory. This ensures centralized password storage and privacy. The synchronized information can be combined with two-factor authentication methods on the Identity Server service.

            Federated identity management

            Nowadays users increasingly need to access external systems that are outside their domain of control. Additionally, partners and external users need to access internal systems. Federated identity management addresses the challenges associated with such cross-organization and cross-domain access, and uses a common set of policies, practices and protocols to manage the identity of users. Identity information is portable across autonomous security domains so that users of one domain can seamlessly and securely use the data or systems of another domain, without the overhead of user administration at every domain.

            Strong authentication

            Strong authentication reduces the risks associated with ordinary password authentication and provides a more secure way of logging in to the network by using a second authentication factor, such as one-time passwords or SMS authentication.


            Each login attempt by every user is logged and available in the real-time log viewer. It explicitly shows accepted and rejected authentication attempts per user, so administrators can quickly determine the exact cause of every failed authentication. If too many failed authentication events occur, the users are locked automatically.
            Each login attempt by every user is logged and available in the real-time log viewer. It explicitly shows accepted and rejected authentication attempts per user, so administrators can quickly determine the exact cause of every failed authentication. If too many failed authentication events occur, the users are locked automatically.

            User and group management in the Mission Control Portal.
            User and group management in the Mission Control Portal.

            The Mission Control Portal offers a detailed audit trail.
            The Mission Control Portal offers a detailed audit trail.

            OTP Token Authentication

            Tokens produce a constantly alternating 6-digit number that provides an additional authentication factor. It serves as a one-time password and, therefore, prevents various attacks on the user's credentials including keyboard logging at internet cafés or any eavesdropping and password thefts. Users are relieved from difficult password handling. Periodic password renewal enforcements can be simplified with increased protection.

             

            Hardware token in the form of a keyring that shows an alternating 6-digit number at the push of a button.
            Hardware token in the form of a keyring that shows an alternating 6-digit number at the push of a button.


            Software tokens are stored on a mobile device, such as a smartphone.
            Software tokens are stored on a mobile device, such as a smartphone.

            Certificate Authentication

            Client certificates can be used for device or user authentication. For user authentication, a user identifier is extracted from the user certificate during the login phase. This is convenient for users and automatically creates a strong binding between the user certificate and user login. Device authentication can enforce the use of company-managed computers for remote access.


            SMS Authentication

            For users with mobile phones this method of strong authentication is an alternative to hardware tokens. After the correct password is entered, an SMS with a one-time password (OTP) is sent to the mobile number of the user (that number is registered in advance in the Mission Control Portal). The user completes the authentication by entering this OTP in the newly presented field of the login page. This process proves that the user is in possession of a mobile device with a SIM card that corresponds to the registered mobile number, and is thus a form of two-factor authentication, i.e. the user knows a password and has a unique device.

Mission Control Identity Server

            Der Identity Server beantwortet Benutzer- und Client-Authentifizierungsanfragen. Er realisiert zudem umfassende Merkmale zur Benutzeradministration und zum Debuggen. Designierte Administratoren können im Mission Control Portal die Benutzeranmeldedaten bearbeiten, Gruppengenehmigungen definieren und Benutzernamen und Passwörter einrichten. Ausserdem wird der Identity Server in die Active-Directory-Umgebung integriert, indem die Benutzer synchron bleiben. Immer wenn ein Benutzer sein Passwort ändert, setzt das Mission Control Portal starke Passwortrichtlinien durch.

            Für bestehende Active-Directory-Umgebungen werden Benutzerfelder, wie Name, Telefonnummer, E-Mail-Adresse, Alias, Client-VPN-Gruppenmitgliedschaft, Authentifizierungsgruppenmitgliedschaften, Berufsbezeichnung und Kostenstelle, zur Identity Server-Datenbank synchronisiert. Das Passwort eines Benutzers wird nicht aus dem Active Directory exportiert und daher in Echtzeit mit dem Verzeichnis verglichen und bestätigt. Dies gewährleistet eine zentralisierte Passwortspeicherung und den Datenschutz. Die synchronisierten Daten sind mit Methoden der Zwei-Faktor-Authentifizierung im Identity Server kombinierbar.

            Federated Identity Management

            Heutzutage müssen die Benutzer zunehmend auf externe Systeme ausserhalb ihres Kontrollbereiches zugreifen. Zusätzlich benötigen Partner und externe Benutzer Zugang auf interne Systeme. Der Federated Identity Management Service meistert die Herausforderungen im Zusammenhang mit einem solchen Zugang über Organisationen und Bereiche hinweg und verwaltet mit einem gemeinsamen Satz aus Richtlinien, Praktiken und Protokollen die Identität der Benutzer. Die Informationen zur Identität sind über mehrere autonome Sicherheitsbereiche portabel. Die Benutzer eines Bereiches können darum die Daten oder Systeme eines anderen sicher verwenden - ganz ohne den Aufwand einer Benutzerverwaltung für jede einzelne Domäne.

            Strong Authentication

            Strong Authentication verringert die mit einer üblichen Authentifizierung per Passwort verbundenen Risiken und bietet eine sicherere Methode, sich im Netzwerk anzumelden. Hierzu wird ein zweiter Authentifizierungsfaktor verwendet, wie Einmalpasswörter oder SMS-Authentifizierung.


            Each login attempt by every user is logged and available in the real-time log viewer. It explicitly shows accepted and rejected authentication attempts per user, so administrators can quickly determine the exact cause of every failed authentication. If too many failed authentication events occur, the users are locked automatically.
            Jeder Anmeldungsversuch durch jeden Benutzer wird protokolliert und ist in Echtzeit im Log-Viewer verfügbar. Explizit angezeigt werden akzeptierte und zurückgewiesene Authentifizierungsversuche pro Benutzer. Folglich können die Administratoren schnell den genauen Grund einer jeden fehlgeschlagenen Authentifizierung bestimmen. Schlagen zu viele Authentifizierungen fehl, wird der Benutzer automatisch gesperrt.

            User and group management in the Mission Control Portal.
            Benutzer- und Gruppenmanagement im Mission Control Portal.

            The Mission Control Portal offers a detailed audit trail.
            Das Mission Control Portal bietet einen ausführlichen Audit-Trail.

            OTP Token Authentication

            Token erzeugen als zusätzlichen Authentifizierungsfaktor eine ständig wechselnde sechsstellige Zahl. Sie bilden ein Einmalpasswort und verhindern somit verschiedene Angriffe auf die Anmeldeinformationen des Benutzers, zum Beispiel durch Tastatur-Logger in Internetcafés, gezieltes Abhören und gestohlene Passwörter. Die Benutzer müssen dazu nicht mehr umständlich mit Passwörtern hantieren. Die Richtlinien zur regelmässigen Erneuerung des Passworts lassen sich mit einem erhöhten Schutz vereinfachen.

             

            Hardware token in the form of a keyring that shows an alternating 6-digit number at the push of a button.
            Hardware-Token in Form eines Schlüsselanhängers, der eine wechselnde sechsstellige Zahl auf Knopfdruck zeigt.


            Software tokens are stored on a mobile device, such as a smartphone.
            Software Tokens werden auf einem Mobilgerät, wie zum Beispiel auf einem Smartphone, gespeichert.

            Certificate Authentication

            Client-Zertifikate lassen sich für Geräte- oder Benutzerauthentifizierung einsetzen. Für Letztere wird während der Anmeldung ein Benutzerkennzeichen aus dem Benutzerzertifikat extrahiert. Dies ist bequem für die Benutzer und schafft automatisch eine starke Verbindung zwischen Benutzerzertifikat und -anmeldung. Die Geräteauthentifizierung kann für den Remote-Zugriff die Nutzung firmengesteuerter Computer erzwingen.


            SMS Authentication

            Für Benutzer mit Mobiltelefonen ist diese starke Authentifizierungsmethode eine Alternative zu den Hardware-Token: Nach Eingabe des korrekten Passworts wird eine SMS mit einem Einmalpasswort an die Mobiltelefonnummer des Benutzers gesendet (Letztere wurde vorher im Mission Control Portal registriert). Der Benutzer authentifiziert sich, indem er in das neu erscheinende Feld auf der Anmeldeseite das Einmalpasswort eingibt. Dieser Prozess bestätigt, dass der Benutzer ein Mobilgerät mit einer SIM-Karte besitzt, die der registrierten Mobiltelefonnummer entspricht. Es handelt sich somit um eine Zwei-Faktor-Authentifizierung; der Benutzer kennt ein Passwort und besitzt darüber hinaus ein eindeutiges Gerät.