Mission Control Traffic Shaping

            As applications compete with each other for network resources, the network traffic needs to be controlled in order to ensure that business-critical and real-time traffic gets the bandwidth that it deserves.

            The Mission Control Traffic Shaping service ensures application-specific network performance if the link is congested. Traffic is classified into three main service classes:

            • Internet traffic: any kind of traffic leaving for the public internet, for example web proxy traffic.
            • Corporate traffic: customer-internal traffic that remains within the private network. It also includes traffic that is forwarded over the WAN Encryption and Routing service.
            • Corporate transit traffic: corporate traffic that does not originate or terminate at this location. It forwards traffic to and from other locations, but there is either no direct connection between the source and destination locations, or the direct connection failed and hence traffic is rerouted via a third location.

            Guaranteed throughput defines either a percentage or an explicit throughput that is dedicated to one of the three classes. Flexible queue allocation for optimal bandwidth usage makes sure that unused bandwidth resources are released for other classes and not wasted.

            On the left, corporate traffic does not need all of its guaranteed throughput, so internet traffic is allowed to use more bandwidth. On the right, all three classes need and are using their guaranteed bandwidth.
            On the left, corporate traffic does not need all of its guaranteed throughput, so internet traffic is allowed to use more bandwidth. On the right, all three classes need and are using their guaranteed bandwidth.

Mission Control Traffic Shaping

            Während Applikationen miteinander um Netzwerkressourcen konkurrieren, braucht man Kontrolle über den Netzwerkverkehr, um die optimale Bandbreite für geschäftskritischen Netzwerk- und Echtzeitverkehr fortlaufend zu gewährleisten.

            Mission Control Traffic Shaping garantiert applikationsspezifische Netzwerkleistung, falls der Link überlastet ist. Netzwerkverkehr wird somit in drei Serviceklassen eingestuft:

            • Internetverkehr: Netzverkverkehr jeder Art, der auf dem Weg zum öffentlichen Internet ist, zum Beispiel Webproxy-Verkehr.
            • Unternehmensverkehr: Interner Unternehmensverkehr, der im privaten Netzwerk bleibt. Unternehmensverkehr enthält auch Netzwerkverkehr, der über den WAN Encryption and Routing Service weitergeleitet wird.
            • Transitverkehr: Netzwerkverkehr vom Unternehmen, der weder von diesem Standort stammt noch dort terminiert. Netzwerkverkerhr wird von und zu anderen Standorten weitergeleitet, aber es gibt keine direkten Verbindungen zwischen dem Quellenstandort und Zielstandort, oder eine direkte Verbindung ist fehlgeschlagen und der Netzwerkverkehr wird deshalb via einem dritten Standort umgeleitet.

            Die garantierte Durchsatzleistung definiert entweder eine Prozentzahl oder einen expliziten Datendurchsatz, der zu einer der drei Klassen zugeordnet wird. Flexible Bereitstellung des Queues für optimale Bandbreitenutzung stellt sicher, dass unbenutzte Bandbreite-Ressourcen an andere Klassen freigegeben und somit nicht verschwendet werden.

            On the left, corporate traffic does not need all of its guaranteed throughput, so internet traffic is allowed to use more bandwidth. On the right, all three classes need and are using their guaranteed bandwidth.
            Auf der linken Seite braucht Unternehmensverkehr seinen ganzen garantierten Durchsatz nicht – deshalb darf interner Netzwerkverkehr mehr Bandbreite nutzen. Auf der rechten Seite benötigen und nutzen alle drei Klassen ihre garantierte Bandbreite.